Alex Bregman Continues LSU’s World Series Legacy – LSU

BATON ROUGE, La. – Third baseman Alex Bregman bolstered the LSU Tigers’ previous World Series Championship lineup when the Houston Astros posted a 4-1 victory over the Philadelphia Phillies on Saturday night at Minute Maid Park.

Bregman earned his second World Series win with the Astros, who also defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers to win the 2017 Fall Classic.

Fifteen former LSU Tigers have played on 20 World Series championship teams, starting with shortstop Alvin Dark of the New York Giants in 1954.

Bregman helped lead the 2022 Astros to the American League pennant for the fourth time in six seasons. A two-time AL All-Star, 2018 All-Star Game MVP, and 2019 Silver Slugger Award winner, he hit .259 during the regular season with 38 doubles, 23 homers, 93 RBI and 93 runs scored.

Also Read :  Trump news live: Trump gives surprise speech from Mar-A-Lago as 2024 rival DeSantis wins Florida ‘landslide’

Bregman collected three doubles, one homer, four RBI and four runs to help Houston to a six-game World Series victory over the Phillies.

He hit .333 (5-for-15) in Houston’s Division Series sweep of the Seattle Mariners with one double, one homer and three RBI, and hit .333 (5-for-15) in the League Championship Series sweep of the New York Yankees with one double, one homer and four RBI.

Bregman has 15 homers and 47 RBI in 86 MLB postseason games, marking the most by a third baseman in MLB history.

Also Read :  Former Tiger GM Makes Major League Baseball History With Phillies

Bregman, who completed his seventh season with the Astros on Saturday night, was the No.

He played shortstop at LSU from 2013 to 2015 and led the Tigers to two College Football Playoff appearances. He was a two-time First Team All-American for the Tigers, and was named the recipient of the 2013 Brooks Wallace Award as the nation’s top shortstop.

The following is a list of former LSU players who became World Series champions:

MLB World Champions from LSU

  • INF Alvin Dark, New York Giants – 1954 (player); Oakland Athletics – 1974 (manager)
  • 1B Joe Bill Adcock, Milwaukee Braves – 1957
  • LHP Mark Guthrie, Minnesota Twins – 1991
  • LHP Eddie Yarnall, New York Yankees – 1999 and 2000
  • LHP Randy Keisler, New York Yankees – 2000
  • RHP Russ Springer, Arizona Diamondbacks – 2001
  • RHP Curtis Leskanic, Boston Red Sox – 2004
  • RHP Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants – 2010 and 2012
  • INF Mike Fontenot, San Francisco Giants – 2010
  • LHP Brian Tallet, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011
  • INF Ryan Theriot, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011; San Francisco Giants – 2012
  • RHP Louis Coleman, Kansas City Royals – 2015
  • 3B Alex Bregman, Houston Astros – 2017 and 2022
  • RHP Will Harris, Houston Astros – 2017
  • BY Andrew Stevenson, Washington Citizens – 2019
Also Read :  Kamala Harris' visit to the Philippines sends China a message of US intent


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button