Election Results 2022, Assembly Bypolls On 7 Seats In 6 States: Tight Contest In Telangana, BJP Ahead In 4 Seats In Key Polls: 10 Points

Counting begins at 8 am and results are usually expected by noon. (Image representation)

New Delhi:
Election results: Election results for seven assembly seats in six states will be announced today. Battles of prestige are being fought in Bihar and Telangana, and a family’s legacy is on the line in Haryana.

Here are 10 points that cover what this election means:

  1. After the first few rounds of counting, the BJP leads in Uttar Pradesh’s Gola Gokrannath, Haryana’s Adampur, Bihar’s Gopalganj and Odisha’s Dhamnagar, with the Tejashwi Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal ahead in Bihar’s Mokama. Rao’s IK Chandrashekar of the Telangana Rashtriya Samithi earlier in Munugode and Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena-led party are set to win the Andheri seat of Mumbai’s Andheri East.

  2. Of these seven seats, the BJP holds three, the Congress two, while the Shiv Sena and the RJD have one each before polls are due. Two seats are in Bihar and one each in UP, Haryana, Maharashtra, Telangana and Odisha.

  3. Bihar is seeing the first contest – on two seats – since Nitish Kumar ditched the BJP to revive the JDU alliance with Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD. RJD candidate Neelam Devi, wife of Anant Singh who was ousted after being convicted of illegal possession of firearms, is leading in Mokama. In Gopalganj, the RJD is hoping to oust the BJP which has been in power for almost two decades now. It pitted Mohan Prasad Gupta against the BJP’s Kusum Devi, whose late husband Subhas Singh had to be elected.

  4. In Haryana, the former chief minister of Bhajan Lal’s family seat Adampur will decide whether his granddaughter Bhavya Bishnoi can carry the legacy 68 years after switching from the Congress to the BJP. Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi, who led the family in the BJP, resigned as MP from Adampur as he left us, leading to this election.

  5. Andheri East in Maharashtra sees the first two. It is the first poll fight after the Shiv Sena split into two as Eknath Shinde unseated Uddhav Thackeray as Chief Minister with the help of the BJP. And it is the first in decades that the Sena led by the Thackerays is fighting with a new name – Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) – and a new symbol, the ‘mashaal’ or burning torch.

  6. Shiv Sena (Uddhav) candidate Rutuja Latke is the widow of former MLA from Andheri (East), who died after a heart attack in May 2022 in Dubai. The BJP has withdrawn its candidate as part of a “political ritual” in a poll forced by the death of a leader.

  7. In Telangana, Munugode saw the ruling TRS and its sworn ally BJP fight it to the ground and made allegations involving “a lot of rupees” – especially given Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s desire to mount a challenge to PM Narendra Modi in 2024. . The Congress party has withdrawn and is now fighting on a BJP ticket.

  8. In Odisha’s Dhamnagar, again, the local ruling party BJD is facing the BJP. The BJP won last time but the death of MP Bishnu Charan Sethi led to this contest. He took his son for a ride.

  9. In its bastion UP, the BJP wants to retain the Gola Gokarannath seat, which fell vacant after the death of its MLA Arvind Giri on September 6. The BSP and the Congress are keeping a distance, so it is a straight fight between Arvind Giri’s son Aman Giri . (BJP) and Samajwadi Party’s Vinay Tiwari, former Member of Parliament.

  10. None of these contests can disturb the calculations of the current governments. But, with regional parties eyeing a united 2024 Lok Sabha election – just a year and a half away – these could act as booster shots, or consciousness busters, depending on the results.

Also Read :  Akto Promises To Protect The World’s APIs From Cyber Attackers


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button