World Cup: When are countries naming their 26-man squads?

The 2022 World Cup kicks off in less than two weeks, with Qatar playing Ecuador on Sunday, November 20.

Managers must name their teams before the tournament starts and time has expired – tournament organizers FIFA have set the 32 participating teams a deadline of Monday 14 November to submit their final selections. There are only six days left before the tournament starts.

World Cups usually have a 23-man squad, but like the restructured 2020 European Championship, coaches will be allowed to name 26 players.

What if players get injured?

In this World Cup – which is played between European home seasons because of the heat observation in Qatar in the summer – there is only one week between the players released by the teams and the participation in the opening group game. This is much less of a gap than previous tournaments, which usually take place after a three-week break.

As a result, FIFA has determined that teams can substitute players who are unavailable due to COVID-19 or injury up to 24 hours before their first match.

Which teams have already named their teams?

The two teams couldn’t wait to announce their teams.

The first was Japan, its head coach Hajime Moriyasu named his 26-man squad on November 1. It included Arsenal’s Takehiro Tomiyasu and Brighton’s Kaoru Mitoma, but did not feature Celtic duo Kyogo Furuhashi or Reo Hatate.

Also Read :  Inside England and USMNT’s World Cup training facilities in Qatar

It is also home to a number of international players, including former Southampton defender Maya Yoshida and Inter Milan defender Yuto Nagatomo, who have 258 caps between them.

Costa Rica named their team on November 3, led by Paris Saint-Germain goalkeeper Keylor Navas. It also includes former Premier League players Bryan Oviedo, Bryan Ruiz and Joel Campbell. All four were members of the 2014 team that reached the quarter-finals in Brazil, losing only to the Netherlands on penalties.

Brazil’s head coach Tite, who will step down after the tournament, called his selection on November 7. The team led by Neymar includes Arsenal’s two Gabriel Jesus and Gabriel Martinelli, as well as Richarlison of Tottenham, but Roberto Firmino of Liverpool missed the cut.

Denmark confirmed 21 of their 26 players for the same day, with Christian Eriksen returning to the tournament’s biggest game just 18 months after suffering a heart attack.

When will the other teams name their teams?

The busy – and, for the players, anxious – week continues.

The Australian team will be unveiled on November 8 – 16 of their players issued a public statement criticizing Qatar’s human rights record last week.

World Cup squad announcement dates

Also Read :  England are being booed again but this was different to the night Rooney snapped
The group Date of announcement


Monday 7th November


Monday 7 November (7pm GMT)


Tuesday November 8th


Wednesday November 9 (10am GMT)


Wednesday November 9 (7pm GMT)


Wednesday November 9


Wednesday November 9

United States

Wednesday November 9 (10pm GMT)


Thursday November 10 (2pm GMT)


Thursday November 10 (4.30pm GMT)


Thursday 10 November


Thursday 10 November


Thursday 10 November


Friday November 11th


Friday November 11th

South Korea

Saturday 12th November


Monday November 14th

Wednesday and Thursday are the big reveal days for the World Cup. Wales, Croatia, France, Switzerland and the United States will all name their teams on Wednesday – with Wales playing in their first World Cup since 1958, and the United States expected to field the youngest team in the competition. Reigning champions France have a number of injury issues, with starting midfielders N’Golo Kante and Paul Pogba confirmed, and Wesley Fofana, Mike Maignan, Raphael Varane, Jules Kounde and Boubacar Kamara all doubtful.

The England squad will be announced on Thursday at 14:00 GMT – Ben Chilwell, Emile Smith Rowe and Kyle Walker-Peters are the only players to miss the tournament, while Reece James, Kyle Walker and Kalvin Phillips have all struggled to stay fit. . Gareth Southgate’s key decisions include selecting in-form midfielder James Maddison, and which striker to captain Harry Kane.

Also Read :  Can Ghana still qualify for World Cup knockout stages? Group H scenarios for Black Stars in Qatar 2022

Portugal, Germany, Belgium and Poland will all name their teams on Thursday. This is the first World Cup since 2006 where the Germans will not be led by Joachim Low – now with Bayern Munich boss Hansi Flick in charge. Cristiano Ronaldo’s selection for a fifth consecutive World Cup will be confirmed.

The Netherlands – who did not win in 2018 – will name their team on Friday, November 11, alongside Spain.

Son Heung-min’s fitness will be confirmed the following day, Saturday, when South Korea call their squad. The Tottenham Hotspur forward broke his left eye during Wednesday’s 2-1 win over Marseille in the Champions League.

go deep


How big is Son Heung-min’s eye socket?

Finally, Argentina’s head coach Lionel Scaloni will announce his team on Monday, November 14, against the deadline. The main questions surround who will partner Lionel Messi, who is also playing in his fifth World Cup, in attack. Roma’s Paulo Dybala is an injury doubt, while Angel Di Maria is also struggling to stay fit. Lautaro Martinez, Angel Correa, Joaquin Correa and Julian Alvarez have all been included in the provisional squad, alongside Atlanta United youngster Thiago Almada.

(Top photo: Getty Images)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button